1. Welcome To V6Mustang.com!

    We are the oldest and largest V6 Mustang forum on the internet. If you have any questions about your V6 Mustang or just want to connect with other V6 Mustang owners around the world, you have found the best place on the internet to do that.

    Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

98 Mustang AC Compressor Problem

Discussion in '1994-2004 V6 Mustang Tech' started by bluefish2007, Mar 8, 2007.

Social Buttons
  1. bluefish2007

    bluefish2007 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    The AC compressor on my 3.8L V6 1998 Ford Mustang stopped coming on when I turn on the "AC" switch.

    Note: the car has about 120,000 miles on it.

    I took it to a mechanic who applied power directly to the compressor, forcing it to come on.

    The refrigerant level appears to be ok.

    Based on internet research I was thinking it could be...

    a. the AC compressor clutch fuse
    b. the AC compressor relay in the CCRM (constant control relay module)
    c. the clutch cycling switch on the AC accumulator

    Before checking the CCRM or the accumulator switch, where can I find the AC compressor clutch fuse?

    If you go to http://www.mustangmods.com/ims/u/544/661/3898.jpg
    you will see a diagram of the inside fusebox. I'm thinking it's fuse #6
    but not sure.

    Thanks!

    - Dave
  2. Rowel-v6

    Rowel-v6 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,909
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    near you...
    when you have your A/C on Norman or Max, does it blow the same air as vent?

    In that case, I have the same problem as you. I havent fixed mine yet, and it will be fix next friday.
  3. justnashty

    justnashty dont worry...its only a 6

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    dallas
    mine had the same problem, change the clutch cycling switch it did it for me. i think the fuse is an intergated part withe the ccrm. the switch is only like 15 bucks at autozone, whereas the ccrm is WAY more. by the way mines a 98 as well
  4. bluefish2007

    bluefish2007 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes it blows the same as vent no matter what I set the A/C to.
  5. bluefish2007

    bluefish2007 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Interesting. I just printed out some instructions about testing the low pressure switch but am unsure as to where the switch is located.

    Where did you find the "clutch cycling switch" on your motor? :)
  6. justnashty

    justnashty dont worry...its only a 6

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    dallas
    in the back passanger side, a black cylindrical thing, the accumilator. only electrical connector on there
  7. bluefish2007

    bluefish2007 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. justnashty

    justnashty dont worry...its only a 6

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    dallas
    thats all there is to it...
  9. bluefish2007

    bluefish2007 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0

    awesome! thanks! :crazy:
  10. taylor0987

    taylor0987 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    6,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    Hi Bluefish, welcome to the board. You posted this in the engine tech section of the board and the AC compressor doesn't fall under that area, so I am moving your post.
  11. (SilentMember)

    (SilentMember) New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    3,721
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas
    the switch on the accumulator went bad in my 98 also, you can test it by unplugging the connector to it, and inserting a jumper wire between the terminals. If the compressor kicks on, then the switch is bad.
  12. bluefish2007

    bluefish2007 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Compressor does come on with jumper wire (paper clip) so replaced switch. However, now when I turn on the AC (normal or max) the compressor seems to kick in only for about 2 seconds then turns off.

    Turning the ac knob from AC to vent back to AC results in compressor kicking in for 2 seconds then off, 2 seconds then off.

    Do I need my refrigerant pressure checked? :eek:
  13. bluefish2007

    bluefish2007 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Compressor does come on with jumper wire (paper clip) so replaced switch. However, now when I turn on the AC (normal or max) the compressor seems to kick in only for about 2 seconds then turns off.

    Turning the ac knob from AC to vent back to AC results in compressor kicking in for 2 seconds then off, 2 seconds then off.

    Do I need my refrigerant pressure checked?
  14. Rowel-v6

    Rowel-v6 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,909
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    near you...
    did you by any chance able to fix it?
    Cause, I still have the same problem. Fawking Florida is HOT!!!:(


    Anyone know's how to fix it?
  15. matthews.stang

    matthews.stang Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,592
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mt. Juliet, TN
    I also am having the same problem. :thumbdown:
  16. Rowel-v6

    Rowel-v6 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,909
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    near you...
    Welcome to the club :) . My compressor some times works, when i'm on certain rpm or speed. But, after being offed for more than 1hrs, It stop working again.:mad: :thumbdown:


    someone please rescue us from the heat.
  17. matthews.stang

    matthews.stang Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,592
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mt. Juliet, TN
    Mine won't even turn on anymore. I dug through some wiring diagrams last night and I think there is a relay somewhere.
  18. Rowel-v6

    Rowel-v6 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,909
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    near you...
    i hered the relay, is located left side of your engine. Notice, those parts for a/c (its on top). I'm not really sure of that, some noob told me about that at my local meet.
  19. matthews.stang

    matthews.stang Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,592
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mt. Juliet, TN
    Well that may be a start. :eek:
  20. klotzstang

    klotzstang New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    5,040
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa/St. Pete
    Last year I had the same problem. I replaced the limit swith near the compressor, but it only ran when jumpered. I jumpered it, topped off the 134A, but even when the switch was jumped, the fan would not come on.
    All of this completely disappeared when I installed a different (used) CCRM.
    On y car,it is bolted inside the passenger side fender, just about next to where my CAI filter is, near the tank vent valve.
    I now have COLD AC, and two speeds on the fan. I never noticed two speeds, but most Fords have it.
    A new CCRM from the dealer is about $88, I got mine for $10 at a "recycling facility (junk yard).

    PS If you apply voltage to the wrong place during testing, you can burn the computer.