Welcome To V6Mustang.com!

We are the oldest and largest V6 Mustang forum on the internet. If you have any questions about your V6 Mustang or just want to connect with other V6 Mustang owners around the world, you have found the best place on the internet to do that.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

best aftermarket stereo for 2014

Discussion in '2005-2014 V6 Mustang Appearance & Entertainment' started by Poe Dameron, Apr 2, 2018.

  1. Poe Dameron

    Poe Dameron New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I just bought a dashkit for my 2014 V6 Mustang. I did this with a Honda once and it was a nightmare!! Is there a double din head unit that will be straight plug and play for my car. I need GPS. Also, does anyone know if the wiring is already ran for a back up camera?
     
  2. 08'MustangDude

    08'MustangDude Profile Violation

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2018
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I am looking for an Android system myself, and are having a hell of a time
    deciding on what to buy... There are no aftermarket direct plug-n-play...
    I have a 2008, and they do have some Android units that have the same
    button style and look of the Shaker, but they're over $300.

    Even though the android unit that has the ford look, you still need all the
    harness & antenna adapters and interface module. I am almost on the
    verge of just buying another, working, Shaker unit... There are some
    very nice Android ones out there, but they're all $250 and up for a good
    Octacore unit. I have everything except the antenna adapter... I had one
    somewhere, and I can't find it...

    I can't find the output wattage of the stock radio itself, BEFORE the amplifier
    so I can find a unit that will be the same or higher. I know the Shaker500
    is 500 watts, but that's not what the radio is putting out. Like is the head
    unit 4 x 45watt, 4 x 50? Can't find it. Can't be much, without the CD
    changer unit it in, it's lots of empty space, and one PCboard at the bottom.
    Will also need a 1.5K resister on the amp turn on lead...
     
  3. Poe Dameron

    Poe Dameron New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    So, I bought a Kenwoood DDX595. It looks like the center console piece has a lot of wiring for plug and play. Piece is Metra, model 99-5839CH. Its for a 2010-2014 Ford Mustang. Metraonline.com
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2018
  4. 08'MustangDude

    08'MustangDude Profile Violation

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2018
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I got an Eonon Android 7.1 quad core 7" Radio.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Will be here today.
     
  5. Poe Dameron

    Poe Dameron New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Cool!! Keep me updated on how it turns out and post some pics. I should do the same.
     
  6. 08'MustangDude

    08'MustangDude Profile Violation

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2018
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I have to modify the adapter plate in the install kit. The knob hits the plastic,
    and you can't get to the SD and MAP card slots. I may tear my shaker radio
    apart, pull the face plate off, and mount this inside it for near perfect fitment.
    I can get another shaker 500 unit for $20.00... Will see this weekend how it
    goes. My shaker is almost useless anyway, without the cd changer working.
     
  7. dbovine

    dbovine Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Sault Ste. Marie, ON
    where did you order that unit from?
     
  8. 08'MustangDude

    08'MustangDude Profile Violation

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2018
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    38
    eBay. I also had $49.00 in eBay bucks. They were dolling out 8% when I bought all
    the front end replacement parts for my Jetta, so I racked up $38.00 instantly on those
    parts.

    Just search for Eonon.
     
  9. 08'MustangDude

    08'MustangDude Profile Violation

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2018
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    38
    All done! Can look in my album for some pictures.

    RAP doesn't work though, and I have an interface. Probably
    didn't even need that $20.00 expense...
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2018
  10. Michael14

    Michael14 New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi all. New to the forum. I just spent the better part of the day trying to install the metra dash kit for my 4 speaker system. Nightmare. The kit was missing a plug that would control the front speakers and who knows what else. Are there any other solutions to putting in an aftermarket radeo?
     
  11. 08'MustangDude

    08'MustangDude Profile Violation

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2018
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    38
    You are missing J4, have to get that separately.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  12. Michael14

    Michael14 New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok, would that be the same connection for the Metra kit? If the pictures are for the Scosche it may be different. Anyway I sent a message to Metra to ask them as well.Waiting to hear back. The kicker for me is that I like the factory dash on the 2014. I just want to upgrade the stereo. I don't see to many options other than to change the dash appearance.
     
  13. 08'MustangDude

    08'MustangDude Profile Violation

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2018
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    38
    IF you have the Shaker 500/1000, then you have THREE connectors.
    J4, is the small one, for the Subwoofer, and amp turn-on lead. Place
    a 1.5K ohm resister on the amp turn on lead, so it doesn't POP the amp
    on and off.

    It was cheaper for me to buy a kit with J1 and J4 in it, when J4 alone
    was the same price. Some kits will also come with a resister. The Scosche
    FD5000 interface does not have J4. Just J1 and J3.

    The way the stereo is on the 2010-2015s and up, you are changing the dash
    appearance if you did not have the NAV radio. You would need a SINGLE din
    to keep the appearance. The reason is, the head unit is still double din, but it
    sits behind the bezel, and the open slot is where the CD changer is, then a ribbon
    cable connected part for the radio face-plate which is on the back of the bezel:
    [​IMG]

    I had posted more pics, to show you some more stuff, but they won't show
    when the message is posted, only when editing or preview. AS soon as I
    save changes, they're not there... So, I'm done...