Welcome To V6Mustang.com!

We are the oldest and largest V6 Mustang forum on the internet. If you have any questions about your V6 Mustang or just want to connect with other V6 Mustang owners around the world, you have found the best place on the internet to do that.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Engine management, help me before its too late

Discussion in '1994-2004 V6 Mustang Tech' started by dave2000, Feb 10, 2017.

Tags:
  1. dave2000

dave2000 Member

hey guys, I've been working on my first turbo build for a couple months now, trying to work out the bigger details and get parts together while on a budget. any way i had planned on using sct even bought an x4 and to be honest i didn't realize that i wouldn't be able to adjust custom tunes myself and now i'm doing the math in my head and getting kinda gun shy about shelling out ~300 every time i need the car tuned. this lead me to look into using mega squirt as a piggy back some. i saw some posts on the forums about it but reviews are pretty mixed. anyone out there using ms now? anyone for it, anyone against it?

2. JTsStang

JTsStang Boosted V6

Have you bought a maf or injectors yet? Is the engine built or cammed? Auto or manual?

3. dave2000

dave2000 Member

I haven't bought injectors or a maf yet, engine is stock right now. Manual as well. I was headed for a mild build to start with but i have an extra 3.8 that i was gonna build for more boost.

4. 6 Shooter

6 Shooter Well-Known Member

The advantage for SCT is that a number of guys on this forum use it to tune their own cars plus a little help from dyno tuning. Probably 90% of the tuning can be done in the driveway and some on the streets/highways. It takes some time and patients to eliminate annoying drivability issues that most tuners cannot fix or you do not have enough $$ to pay them go get the little things to go away.

5. dave2000

dave2000 Member