Welcome To V6Mustang.com!

We are the oldest and largest V6 Mustang forum on the internet. If you have any questions about your V6 Mustang or just want to connect with other V6 Mustang owners around the world, you have found the best place on the internet to do that.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Exhaust alterations

Discussion in '2011-2014 V6 Mustang Tech' started by DocBoyales, Nov 13, 2017.

1. DocBoyales

DocBoyales New Member

What exhaust alterations have you done yourself and what issues did you have?

2. Spdricer

Spdricer Active Member

umm I've done alot. and i donno I have issues but i love it so I donno like it smells

3. DocBoyales

DocBoyales New Member

Hi. Well ya see what happened was.... (All the best or dumbest stories start off like that.) I do everything myself. I'm used to working on old school engines so I'm still learning these new fangled computer controlled contraptions as I go. I did everything I could do to the engine besides a turbo or super charger as far as I know. Put BBK larger throttle body, Accel coils, the most expensive plugs I could find, a Roush short ram ( commonly referred to as a cold air intake, which it isn't, it's a short ram.) and a tuner. One of the American muscle tuner guys told me I could get 5-8 more hp if I did a cat delete. So I went the fast easy route. I cut a door into the cat canisters, gutted them and welded the piece back. It sounded fine. It had the tone and volume of a genuine high performance engine. The issue was it was causing strange readings to my O2 sensors. So I cut out the O2 sensor bungs, and the canisters and replaced it with normal exhaust pipe from AutoZone like I'd done in the past. At idle it sounded good, not great, but good. As soon as I opened up the throttle wow!!!! the extremely loud ringing sound of I'm not an exhaust expert was horrible and embarrassing. So I asked the American muscle guys. They said all I needed to do was to install a resonator.