Welcome To V6Mustang.com!

We are the oldest and largest V6 Mustang forum on the internet. If you have any questions about your V6 Mustang or just want to connect with other V6 Mustang owners around the world, you have found the best place on the internet to do that.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Gas Mileage

Discussion in '2005-2010 V6 Mustang Tech' started by tattooedindian, Jun 15, 2014.

  1. tattooedindian

    tattooedindian New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My 03 when i got it was stock and got 20-28 mpg, after putting on my cold air intake my mileage dropped
    to 17 city and low 20s hwy, is this normal. Thanks
     
  2. Markstang

    Markstang Polishing my banhammer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,004
    Likes Received:
    73
    Trophy Points:
    58
    No, what CAI did you use, and how is it set up, pics could help too.
     
  3. Derfdog15

    Derfdog15 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Fort Pierce, FL
    That sounds very very wrong. As said above pics of the setup and more details would be nice. My 03 with gears, 17's, CAI, and a tune, and my lead foot still gets 20-25 mpg mostly highway, and usually closer to 25.
     
  4. tattooedindian

    tattooedindian New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    It's stock except the CAI. it runs great other than the mileage Mustang CAI.jpg
     
  5. Derfdog15

    Derfdog15 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Fort Pierce, FL
    The only thing I can say to check is the plug you used near the maf, make sure it is tight. Also I would recommend testing the gas mileage by using the trip odometer, when you fill up set it to 0, then when you fill up again calculate the mileage.

    I would also recommend doing the same thing with the OEM one and making sure you didn't just have a weird case.

    My final recommendation would be to disconnect the battery for about 10 minutes then reconnect it and see what happens, this way the adaptive learning will begin again.

    These can be done in whatever order you see fit. Good luck!
     
    getsidewayzdrift likes this.
  6. tattooedindian

    tattooedindian New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  7. Austin Klinedinst

    Austin Klinedinst Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I'm familiar with this. My car has a CAI but it's not a good set up on it. Same stock airbox with just a steeda CAI shield and an aftermarket filter basically. Was like that when I bought it. Terrible gas mileage. I usually avg 15.66 city.
     
  8. tattooedindian

    tattooedindian New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Here's my update: After unplugging the battery for at least 1/2 hour, driving
    all week, then checking and refilling driving on the interstate. My mileage is
    still 18 city/ 24 Hwy, with stock air box was 21/28 mpg.
     
  9. getsidewayzdrift

    getsidewayzdrift one- wheel peelin!

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    41
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Rockledge, Florida
    something still doesn't seem right, this might be a long shot, but try cleaning the MAF with a cleaner that's made for that
     
    Derfdog15 likes this.
  10. Derfdog15

    Derfdog15 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Fort Pierce, FL
  11. tattooedindian

    tattooedindian New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Cleaned the MAF sensor, changed the plugs, still no difference 16 city
     
  12. ivanrad

    ivanrad New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    check all fittings, hand calculate mileage . replace fuel filter it could be clogging . check tire pressure . then i would move to sparks and wires . if you problem isnt solved . allignment and balance ?
     
  13. getsidewayzdrift

    getsidewayzdrift one- wheel peelin!

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    41
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Rockledge, Florida
    he already changed the plugs :p


    try reinstalling your stock air intake for just a week or so and see if that remedies the problem now that you've been driving with the new one for a while, I can't imagine the tube and filter alone are causing said drop in mileage. Your positive your driving habits haven't changed since installing the new kit? I know mine did for a little bit after installing mine :p
     
  14. getsidewayzdrift

    getsidewayzdrift one- wheel peelin!

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    41
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Rockledge, Florida
    and am I also safe in assuming that there wasn't a second wire coming off where your MAF is? Mine has an air temperature sensor I believe it is, coming off the wiring to the MAF to plug into that little hole that's plugged on yours right above the MAF, that would be an issue if the sensor is just hanging around in the bay, I'm sure sure you wouldn't do that though, just trying to cover all bases hah
     
  15. Markstang

    Markstang Polishing my banhammer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,004
    Likes Received:
    73
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Back in 2007 when I first got the car, it would always get me only 13 mpg. I get 16-17 nowadays. Keep in mind I'm in a suburban area, can't go very far before having to stop for a traffic light or stop sign. Stop and go really kills the efficiency.
     
  16. ivanrad

    ivanrad New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    i never said replace sparks i said check. checking your sparks involving the gap whether u use the grease maybe its stripped check wires to make sure they all match up . if you have a tuner later on you can always reset your stock tune and check for dtcs if you cant find any dtcs i would make sure everything on your car is tightened . you need to double check everything including your throttle body .
     
  17. tattooedindian

    tattooedindian New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I replaced the wires last yr. so I doubt they are bad, driving habits still the same. I really don't drive very far during the week, just to work and home 15 mile round trip. My car didn't have the temp sensor on it so there was no wire
     
  18. Phil II

    Phil II Cone Destroyer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,421
    Likes Received:
    207
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Location:
    Columbia, South Carolina
    It could well be the stock air box is better designed for mileage