Welcome To V6Mustang.com!

We are the oldest and largest V6 Mustang forum on the internet. If you have any questions about your V6 Mustang or just want to connect with other V6 Mustang owners around the world, you have found the best place on the internet to do that.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

How-To Properly Datalog A Vehicle

Discussion in 'Archive' started by Zach, May 27, 2011.

  1. Zach

    Zach Blank.

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,847
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Brookhaven, PA
    Here are some easy steps to setting up a datalog using an SCT device. Please use a Laptop when doing any datalogging.

    1. Install SCT LiveLink Software - SCT Performance - More Power! Less Fuel! (click on sct device, enter serial number, download last program on list (livelink) )

    [​IMG]

    2. Open LiveLink on laptop

    [​IMG]

    3. Plug tuner into vehicles OBD2 port

    4. Plug tuner into laptop using supplied USB cable

    5. Click Graph icon on top bar of screen and allow PID list to generate

    [​IMG]

    6. Select PIDs you want to datalog

    [​IMG]

    7. Start Vehicle

    8. Press Green Start button in livelink (turns green when PIDS are recognized)

    9. Allow vehicle to idle for 2-3 minutes, then part throttle cruising for 2-3 minutes, and then 2-3 wide open throttle pulls

    10. Click red stop button

    11. Click FILE then SAVE DATALOG AS



    IF YOU RUN INTO DEVICE CONNECTIVITY ISSUES, PLEASE FOLLOW THESE STEPS

    1. Plug tuner into comp.

    2. Go to start menu

    3. Right click computer or my computer

    4. Click properties

    5. In to top left of the screen you should see "Device Manager"

    a. If you have tabs, click hardware tab then "Device Manager" (windows xp and older)

    6. Look for Jungo or Other Devices and open them

    7. Look for device name (ex. x3p device for X3/SF3)

    8. Right click and update drivers.

    9. Go back to above instructions and continue.
     
  2. Codi_P

    Codi_P TGOD

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,037
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo
    Awesome. I needed this!
     
  3. Zach

    Zach Blank.

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,847
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Brookhaven, PA
    No problem, you may run into sct driver issues but im editing the post to show you how to fix it
     
  4. Ortiz

    Ortiz Sup

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    Messages:
    8,374
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Alamo, Tx
    Good stuff man :thumbup:
     
  5. Ortiz

    Ortiz Sup

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    Messages:
    8,374
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Alamo, Tx
    Let me just add that if you have a wideband with the cable to run it to your xcal, you will have to select Analog and check Analog 1. Once you do that, you have to go to Commands and click where it says Analog Equations. You will have to type in 2*v+10 in order to get the a/f right on the money.
     
  6. Zach

    Zach Blank.

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,847
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Brookhaven, PA
    and you need the firewire to connect to it from the a/f gauge.
     
  7. blackenedESP

    blackenedESP New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dover, New Jersey
    that equation differs depending on what wideband you have. i know the LC1 is (v*3)+7.35. either way, Live Link has preset equations to the right where you can choose which analog device you're using. so you don't have to worry about finding the actual equation. unless of course it's not on the preset list.