Welcome To V6Mustang.com!

We are the oldest and largest V6 Mustang forum on the internet. If you have any questions about your V6 Mustang or just want to connect with other V6 Mustang owners around the world, you have found the best place on the internet to do that.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Loud bang, and now car is LOUD!

Discussion in '1994-2004 V6 Mustang Tech' started by jessipanda, Sep 18, 2017.

1. jessipanda

jessipanda New Member

Hi everyone! I joined this forum hoping to get some help diagnosing an issue with my boyfriends 2004 Mustang. I'm not extremely experienced with working on vehicles, but I'm a pro compared to him...

So a bit of backstory. We've been having some issues with this car. For about 2 years, we would have to mess with the battery terminals to get the car to start. Never thought much of it, it would always start. Figured it was caused by loose terminals. Replacing them didn't fix it. Replacing the battery didn't fix it. So we just dealt with it. Then, it decided it was just going to stall out while it was being driven down the road. It did this several times over a 2 day span. That day (Friday) we took it to a shop, explained what's been going on, and they couldn't figure out the problem. So we scheduled an appointment with the Ford dealership for that Monday. Dropped it off, explained the situation, and they had the car until Friday. In those 5 days, they never could quite figure out the true issue, but they did replace the water pump (never had any issues with it over heating and we live in FL), as well as an ignition wire. A grand later and the car is running great, and was even performing much better (accelerating like you would expect a Mustang to, when before it seemed to drag a$$ when trying to accelerate). So even though I had questions, they seemed to have fixed the problem. That was exactly a month ago today.