Welcome To V6Mustang.com!

We are the oldest and largest V6 Mustang forum on the internet. If you have any questions about your V6 Mustang or just want to connect with other V6 Mustang owners around the world, you have found the best place on the internet to do that.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Mega Squirt Tuning

Discussion in '2005-2010 V6 Mustang Tech' started by greensteeda, Apr 8, 2013.

1. greensteeda

greensteeda Retired Speed Racer Mod. Suck It!

I was looking into all of the options to make sure that my new engine will have a long and happy life. I came across several people that have told me that using an MAF based tuning system is limited in how reliable it is under different conditions. I have also been told that using a MAP based system like Mega Squirt could be the ticket for safely running boost on a race only car.

I am a complete noob at tuning so I wanted to hear if anybody has messed with that system on a V6.

2. mustang024

mustang024 Active Member

Talk to Ron(8byah6) he would be the MS guru here. I believe he was developing a PnP for us v6 guys

3. JTsStang

JTsStang Boosted V6

Diller, I would stay with sct for the simple fact you have support. Phil and myself both have boosted 4.3's and tune our self. It's really not all that hard as long as there are no mechanical issues going on. I also have a real nice base tune file you could start from.

If I had it to do over again I would have went with binary editor to tune on the fly. Only down side to this sct is you have to shut the car down to reflash it. Know a guy who tunes with be and was sitting at a stop light while his buddy was driving decided the idle needed to be raised. Entered the desired rpm for the idle and hit the enter button.

As for maf vs map, I think these slot mafs are VERY easy to tune and are very accurate.

4. greensteeda