Welcome To V6Mustang.com!

We are the oldest and largest V6 Mustang forum on the internet. If you have any questions about your V6 Mustang or just want to connect with other V6 Mustang owners around the world, you have found the best place on the internet to do that.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

New to Mustangs. How Long do they Last?

Discussion in 'Mustang Talk' started by tbryanh, Feb 7, 2016.

1. tbryanh

tbryanh New Member

I am new to mustangs, and I want to pick up a used one for the daily commute to work.

How many miles do the engines and transmissions last? What years are good? What years are bad? Etc.?

I am looking at probably buying a 1998 or newer car. Any help will be appreciated. Thanks.

2. 03-3.8stang

03-3.8stang New Member

The 3.8 is a solid motor, especially when mated to the T-5 manual. Mine is at 204,000 (mostly highway miles) currently and still runs like a champ. 99-04 are better motors than 96-98 power-wise due to the split-port intake and heads. If you have more money, go newer.

3. six gun

six gun Active Member

Ditto. Go 99-04 if you're interested in an SN95. My 99 is also over 200k and doin great.

4. fasterthanyou

fasterthanyou Active Member

For the 3.8 engines I'd say 160k is about their limit before the wear and tear becomes a noticeable problem. It depends how well they were maintained. The guys that posted 200k probably did everything right, regular oil changes, coolant changes etc. I've had 2 of my own that started knocking at 150k and kicked the bucket at 160k.

5. Phil II

Phil II Cone Destroyer Staff Member

I recently purchased a 200k car to use as a chassis. The engine was fine and it actually drove well. One owner since 2001.

The essential thing is your preference.

I'd like to point out the S197 prices are dropping precipitously.

6. John

John Ex-Legend