Welcome To V6Mustang.com!

We are the oldest and largest V6 Mustang forum on the internet. If you have any questions about your V6 Mustang or just want to connect with other V6 Mustang owners around the world, you have found the best place on the internet to do that.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Sixpackstang's Official Split Port Swap Post

Discussion in 'V6 Mustang Articles' started by sixpackstang, Nov 7, 2004.

  1. NMStang218

    NMStang218 Hello My Name Is

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2002
    Messages:
    3,582
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ

    Well glad to hear you resolved some problems:thumbup: Looks like Murphys law has been in full effect for you from the begining but looks like its letting up.
    Maybe the dipstick still smelled from residual gas still being in the oil passeges. I say let it run for a bit and if the smell gets any stronger then look into it.

    The only way I can see it going into you oil is by the piston ring. Maybe all that gas was just collecting in the #6 cylinder(since it wasnt firing) and when the car cooled down the ring contracted slightly from the lowering heat and the condensed gas dripped passed the ring. I had a buttload of antifreeze get into my oil this exact way. You said you had gas coming out the pipe right?
     
  2. sixpackstang

    sixpackstang New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,874
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    take a meter to it and see which one is positive? I'm not certain but I believe the 3 ground wires are all the same color and the power is different.

    Do you have a new connector that goes with the 01 coil pack?
     
  3. mikek2111987

    mikek2111987 Welcome to 3.Hate

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    9,925
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    detroit
    yeah before swapping computers the #6 plug was just getting completly washed out and couldnt fire and it was shooting a **** ton of oil/gas/water out the tail pipes. hasnt done that yet but it does still puff a little white smoke and smell of a gas a bit. imgoing to compression test all the cylinders tomorrow and hopefully when pete comes over his retune should help alot
     
  4. Silentst2000

    Silentst2000 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, Oh
  5. USMCGrunt0307

    USMCGrunt0307 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,487
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So you said earlier that the 94-98s have two temp sensors on them and that a hole would need to be drilled on the split port lower to add the second temp sensor. Well, I was looking yesterday at my old lower and saw that it didnt have two temp sensors....just one...anybody else with a 98 have that??
     
  6. NMStang218

    NMStang218 Hello My Name Is

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2002
    Messages:
    3,582
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    nope
     
  7. sixpackstang

    sixpackstang New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,874
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    If I remember there is only one sensor that plugs directly into the intake. Look on the coolant tube that comes out of the front of the intake, the other one is plugged into that a couple inches up.
     
  8. mikek2111987

    mikek2111987 Welcome to 3.Hate

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    9,925
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    detroit
    yeah ones in the side of the bleed port if i remember correctly then the others in the lower intake

    i didnt use the one in the bleed port thingy because that one just sends the temp to the gauge cluster, the other one gives the reading for the computer
     
  9. USMCGrunt0307

    USMCGrunt0307 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,487
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ya im an idiot, disregard my existance on that last post.
     
  10. RoughRidin232

    RoughRidin232 Stuck in the Wiki

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bentonville, Arkansas
    Okay, I'm fully aware that this thread is as dead as a doornail, forgive me.

    I found this back when I was first planning my split port swap, and seeing as how my split port engine had it's throttle bracket removed, I ordered a new one per the part # on this post, F4SZ-9728-B.

    Turns out that guy is the throttle bracket for single port engines and it won't fit on the 99+ upper intakes.

    A week, a few headaches, and a lot of time getting to know the guys at the ford dealership, I got the right bracket. If you ask for a bracket for a '00 3.8L, they're gonna order you a single port bracket. It doesn't fit, the ford listing is wrong, I did this twice before I asked them to look ahead a few years, at a 2002 3.8L. Sure enough it was my bracket.

    Cliff Notes: The correct throttle cable bracket for a split port engine is 1R3Z-9728-AA

    Again, this is a dead thread, but I referenced it and I'm sure others do too when they hit 'search', don't want anyone else getting lost like I did. :thumbup:
     
  11. mikek2111987

    mikek2111987 Welcome to 3.Hate

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    9,925
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    detroit
    i just made a metal plate so that the single port thorttle cable metal bracket could mount to the split port upper intake then used an 01 (my engine is a 99) throttle body because it took alot less modification to get the throttle cable hooked into the TB
     
  12. swbrown

    swbrown Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lethbridge, AB
    Hey - I am wondering about the fuel rail thing - I am going to put a 4.2 out of an f150. I am fairly sure that it has a RETURN type fuel rail - would this not work for the 94-98?
     
  13. taylor0987

    taylor0987 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    6,534
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    It will work if you use an F150 upper intake manifold. The F150 upper will not clear the stock 94-98 Mustang hood, however. The 99+ Mustang upper intake manifold clears the stock 94-98 hood but it will hit the f150 fuel rail.
     
  14. sixpackstang

    sixpackstang New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,874
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH

    What he said. The only other way I've heard of getting the F150 rail to work with the mustang intake is by putting in at least a 3/4 inch intake spacer. But don't quote me on that, just what I've heard. Also, I don't know about hood clearance issues with the spacer either, but I don't think its a problem.

    And to the guy saying this thread is dead as a doornail, no worries man! I think its stupid how everyone always tell people to use the search, but when they do and they bring up an old thread they yell at them for that. Its perfectly ok for a technical discussion like this!
     
  15. mikek2111987

    mikek2111987 Welcome to 3.Hate

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    9,925
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    detroit
    this thread is the only reason i was able to even get my car running, so **** people who say search, this should be a sticky :thumbup:

    i think from what ive heard 3/4" spacer you just have to remove the hood liner, but dont quote me on that.
     
  16. RoughRidin232

    RoughRidin232 Stuck in the Wiki

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bentonville, Arkansas
    I got a 9/16ths spacer, so I'm crossing my fingers on this...
     
  17. sand1303

    sand1303 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    anyone heard from sixpack lately his last post was sometime last year. i wanted to get some info from him
     
  18. sircrashalot

    sircrashalot Caribbean love 2 eat rice

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,386
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
    anyone have the video to do this?
     
  19. sand1303

    sand1303 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    i have looked for it before with no luck. v6sprout is the one that started it and he doesn't have a copy anymore if you find one of decent quality let me know
     
  20. drkhorse

    drkhorse gt42r

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    slc,utah
    bringing this back since it hasnt been updated in a very long time. ive read countless pages on split port swaps,and have yet to find a step by step guide to doing it,nor are there 100% answers to some of my questions. i have a 1995 mustang,it has an auto trans, i want to put a 1999 complete motor into it( the one in it is blown) my main concerns are the wiring changes and what will i have to do to attach that 99 motor to my 95 auto trans? and depending on who you ask the parts list needed will change every other post, maybe its just me but there doesnt seem to be solid guide on how to do this,not to piss off the op there is alot of good info here,it just seems sloppy.