Welcome To V6Mustang.com!

We are the oldest and largest V6 Mustang forum on the internet. If you have any questions about your V6 Mustang or just want to connect with other V6 Mustang owners around the world, you have found the best place on the internet to do that.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

V6 Swap question

Discussion in '1994-2004 V6 Mustang Tech' started by Jonathan Webster, Jul 18, 2017.

1. Jonathan Webster

Jonathan Webster New Member

Hi, I'm new to the forums. I just got a 2001 Mustang convertible for 350$ that has a bad engine. I was trying to figure out what would be the most cost effective way of getting it up and running.

Issue: Engine has a really bad knocking (Sounds like it will explode at any moment)

I have a buddy that has a 4.0 out of a 1992 Ranger (tran and engine). Is it possible to swap that in?

New to engines but an engineer by trade so hit me with technical explanations and I will look up what I don't understand. ; )

Thanks!

2. fasterthanyou

fasterthanyou Active Member

Anything is possible with enough money and skills. Best bet is to replace it with a 2000.5 thru 2004 3.8

Harper and Jonathan Webster like this.
  3. fasterthanyou

fasterthanyou Active Member

But just a heads up. I assume the 4.0 swap would be more hassle than its worth. I have yet to see anyone perform the swap so there must be a reason.

Jonathan Webster likes this.
  4. Serpent

Serpent Member

local salvage yard. many will sell and install a similar replacement.

5. Phil II

Phil II Cone Destroyer Staff Member

3.8 and 4.2 are related engines. Idk if the 4.0 even has the same bell housing bolt pattern.

KISS: use a 3.8/4.2 donor or rebuild what you got

6. Jonathan Webster

Thanks, guys!! I can see this forum will be a great resource for me! (and hopefully my posts for others)